Bookmark and Share

This gluten-free starch is used to thicken soups and gravies. Its main advantage over other starch thickeners is that it's a permitted ingredient for Passover, unlike cornstarch and other grain-based foods. Liquids thickened with potato starch should never be boiled. Supermarkets often stock it among the Kosher products.

Average 3/5

1 vote

click hearts to rate
0 reviews
1 comment

Also known as

  • Potato starch
  • Potato starch flour
  • Katakuriko


cornstarch (This is very similar, but not permitted for Passover.) OR arrowroot OR tapioca starch OR ground Passover matzo (This is also permitted for Passover.)
How good does this ingredient look to you?
roll over hearts and click to rate


  • Shawn Christopher
    May 10, 2010
    I am a gluten free chef and this is not accurate. In my recipe's I use both potato starch, and potato flour. These are not the same thing. Potato starch is made through a process of removing the starch from potatoes and is the consistency of cornstarch. Potato flour is dehydrated potatoes ground into a powdery flour. A simple trip to the grocery store can clear this up for most anyone. Go to the gluten free section and look for a package of Bob's Red Mill Potato starch, and a package of Bob's Red Mill Potato flour and compare them. I hope this helps.

    Leave a review or comment

    • Current rating: 0
    click hearts to rate